Andreotti and Johansen Receive Roy J. Carver Awards


Two awards created at Iowa State University, with support from the Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust, have been presented to two members of the Roy J. Carver Department of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology (BBMB). Amy Andreotti, was renewed as the Roy J. Carver Endowed Chair in BBMB, and Kristen Johansen, BBMB Department Chair, has been named a Roy J. Carver Professor in BBMB. Both faculty awards were established to support research by outstanding scholars in the area of biomolecular structure and function.

The awards provide funding that will support Andreotti’s and Johansen’s research into high-risk, high-reward areas, work that wouldn’t be possible without the generous support of the Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust. The Carver Trust of Muscatine, Iowa, is the department’s largest donor. It has provided more than $14 million for faculty research, instrumentation, and student programs.

[Story contributed by Elizabeth Peterson, Communication Specialist, LAS]